

The First Youth-Parliament Nuclear Summit

20-21 November 2023 / Senate Room W-160, C Level,1 Wellington St., Parliament Hill, Ottawa

<u>Co-Hosts:</u> The Simons Foundation Canada Nuclear Age Peace Foundation Reverse The Trend: Save Our People, Save Our Planet - Canada Chapter ICAN - International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons Project Ploughshares Mines Action Canada Canadian Voice of Women for Peace Canadians for a Nuclear Weapons Convention IPPNW - International Physicians for Prevention of Nuclear War - Canada Senators Marilou McPhedran, Mary Jane McCallum, Kim Pate MPs Elizabeth May, Heather McPherson, Lindsay Mathyssen Media Partner: Hill Times Videographer: Kasha Sequoia Slavner

Agenda Day One: Monday, November 20 – Senate Room W-160, C level, 1 Wellington St.

10:00am to 10:10am: Parliamentary Welcome Senators Marilou McPhedran and Mary Jane McCallum

10:10am to 10:25am: Opening Remarks from Civil Society Co-Hosts Dr. Jennifer Allen Simons, Founder & President, The Simons Foundation Canada Sarah Rohleder and Rooj Ali, Coordinators, RTT Canada Avinashpal Singh, Online Summit Coordinator Cesar Jaramillo, Executive Director, Project Ploughshares Parliamentary Co-hosts

- Day One Group Photo (tbc) -

10:30am to 10:50am: Keynote Address – *How Young Leaders Influence Disarmament* Benetick Kabua Maddison, Executive Director of the Marshallese Educational Initiative (MEI) and RTT Advisor; Interactive Discussion

11:00am to 11:25am: Why the World Needs the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons Florian Eblenkamp, Advocacy Officer, ICAN



Theme 1: Humanitarian Impact of Nuclear Weapons

11:30am to 11:45am:	<i>Listen to the Hibakusha</i> (1945 Hiroshima A-Bomb Survivors) Setsuko Thurlow, Hibakusha & Co-Recipient of 2017 Nobel Peace Prize
11:45am to 12:10pm:	 Panel – Why the upcoming 2MSP is Important: Mexico Kiribati, Kazakhstan Moderator: Christian N. Ciobanu, Policy and Advocacy Coordinator, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation, Project Coordinator, Reverse The Trend, and TPNW Advisor, Mission of Kiribati; Eduardo Alcibiades Sanchez Kiesslich, Third Secretary, Mission of Mexico to the UN and Representative of the President's Team for the Second Meeting of States Parties to the TPNW; H.E. Ambassador Teburoro Tito, Permanent Representative of Kiribati to the UN; Zhangeldy Syrymbet, Counselor, Mission of Kazakhstan to the UN;
12:10pm to 1:20pm:	Lunch – Tunnel to Senate Cafeteria, Main Senate Building
Theme 2: Intergenerational	Intersectionality of Nuclear Disarmament and Youth Mobilization
1:30pm to 1:50pm:	Keynote Address – <i>Leading toward a World Without Nuclear Weapons</i> Dr. Jennifer Allen Simons C.M., Ph.D., LL.D., Founder & President of The Simons Foundation Canada
1:55pm to 2:15pm	Global Affairs Canada Briefing – <mark>Daniel Barbarie,</mark> Deputy Director (Nuclear and Chemical Weapons)
2:15pm to 2:30pm:	Formation into Working Groups – Photo of each Group
	- Break -
3:00pm to 3:45pm:	Working Groups develop Action Plans for implementing the Youth Declaration
3:45pm – 4:45pm	Walking Tour of Parliament Hill/ Return to 1 Wellington St. to Room W-180
5:00pm to 7:00pm:	Parliamentary Reception – Senate Room W-180 in 1 Wellington Street Welcoming Remarks: Parliamentarians (tbc) MP James Bezan, MP Leah Gazan, MP Carol Hughes Jim Creskey, Publisher Emeritus, Hill Times (Summit Media Partner)



Agenda Day Two - Tuesday November 21 – Senate Room W-160, C Level, 1 Wellington St.

Theme 3: Parliamentary Engagement on Nuclear Disarmament and Youth Mobilization

9:40am to 10:10am:	 Panel – Youth Leadership on Nuclear Disarmament Moderator: Justin Langan, Red River Metis Nation, Manitoba Kerrie Blaise, Esq., Founder, Nature's Defense Peyton Pitawanakwat, Mississauga First Nation, Ontario Erin Hunt, Executive Director, Mines Action Canada with Magritte Gordaneer - Youth Delegate, reporting from the UN in Geneva
10:15am to 11:15am	Presentation of the Youth Declaration on the TPNW to Parliamentarians: Peyton Pitawanakwat (Ontario) Jayden Paquet-Noiseux (Quebec) Sophia Bahara (Manitoba)
	- Group Photo with Parliamentarians -
	Panel - Parliamentarians Respond to the Youth Declaration on the TPNW Moderator: MP Elizabeth May, Co-Leader, Green Party of Canada; NDP MPs Heather McPherson & Lindsay Mathyssen; Bloc Quebecois MPs Andréanne Larouche & Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe Senators Marilou McPhedran & Kim Pate
11:15 to 11:30am:	 Break – * Note: Banners will be taken down and available for individual / group photos, before being packed for return to Manitoba Youth Nuclear Peace Days
Theme 4: Increasing Youth	h Influence in the Nuclear Disarmament Movement
11:35am to 12:00pm:	Panel - ICAN Cities Appeal, and Launch of the RTT How to Manual Florian Eblenkamp, Advocacy Officer, ICAN Rooj Ali and Sarah Rohleder, Coordinators, RTT Canada
12:00pm to 12:30pm:	Closing Statements & Farewells